Wednesday, Mar. 20, 2019
Adjust the Font Size

County GSAs

Introduction  This is the primary page of information for Madera County GSAs for the Madera, Chowchilla and Delta-Mendota Subbasins.

These areas are often referred to as “white areas” or “islands,” and are areas without other GSA representation that are the responsibility of Madera County. The County Board of Supervisors is the Board of Directors for each of the County GSAs. The Board of Supervisors meets as the Board of Directors of the County GSAs on the first Tuesday of the month at the end of the 10 a.m. Board of Supervisors Meeting. You can stream these meetings live (or watch recorded meetings) at You are also welcome to come in person at 200 West Fourth Street, Madera, CA 93637.

GSA Meeting Schedule  The 2019 County GSAs meeting schedule is found below. All meetings are held at 200 West Fourth Street, Madera, CA 93637 at 10 a.m.

January 8, 2019
February 12, 2019
March 5, 2019
April 9, 2019
May 7, 2019
June 4, 2019
July 2, 2019
August 6, 2019
September 3, 2019
October 1, 2019
November 5, 2019
November 19, 2019 (potentially)
December TBD

Advisory Committee  Additionally, there is a County GSAs Advisory Committee, which consists of members from the three subbasins and different demographic groups.  This group provides feedback on the GSP development to the Board of Supervisors as well as relay information to their demographic groups.

Advisory Committee Schedule  The 2019 County Advisory Committee Meeting Schedule is found below. All meetings are at 200 W. Fourth Street, Madera CA 93637

January 3, 2019, 2 p.m. County Headquarters, 4th Floor, Fishbowl meeting room
February 12, 2019 6 p.m. County Head Quarters, 3rd Floor, Room 3005
March 1, 2019 11 – 2 pm AgriLand, Fairmead, Ellis basin Minutes. Agenda & Map
March 7, 2019, 2 p.m. County Headquarters, 3rd Floor, Room 3005 Minutes Agenda. Presentation by Update on Subbasins and Calendars Presentation. Presentation by Self Help.
April 12th, 2019 2 p.m. Government Center Board Chambers. Agenda.
May 2, 2019, 2 p.m. County Headquarters, 3rd Floor, Room 3005
July 11, 2019, 2 p.m. County Headquarters, 3rd Floor, Room 3005
September 5, 2019, 2 p.m. County Headquarters, 3rd Floor, Room 3005
November 7, 2019, 2 p.m. County Headquarters, 3rd Floor, Room 3005

The public is welcome at all of these meetings.

Advisory Committee Members  The 2019 members are as follows (organized by name, subbasin, and representational group):

Abel Serrano, Delta-Mendota, Alternate
Alejandro Viejo, Madera, DAC
Ben Pitman, Chowchilla, Agricultural
Bill Dietrich, Madera, Alternate
Bryant Elkins, Madera, Alternate
Clay Daulton, Chowchilla, Residential
Devin Aviles, Madera, Chair
Greg Rogers, Madera, Public water systems
Jared Samarin, Delta-Mendota, Agricultural
Javier Marquez, Delta-Mendota, DAC
Jay Mahil, Chowchilla, Agricultural
Jerry Kazynski, Madera, Residential
Jim Maxwell, Madera, Vice-Chair
Kevin Herman, Madera, DAC
Miguel Guerrero, Chowchilla, Residential
Ralph Pistoresi, Chowchilla, Alternate
Sierra Vista Mutual Water, Chowchilla, Alternate
Vicky Ortiz, Madera, DAC

2018 Advisory Committee  In 2018, there were three separate advisory committees for the County GSAs that met at quarterly in the evenings.

The Madera County, Madera Subbasin Advisory Committee had the following members:

At-large: James Maxwell, Devin Aviles
Disadvantaged Communities: Alejandro Vieyra, Victoria Ortiz
Agricultural: Bill Diedrich, Kevin Herman
Public Water Systems: Madera Valley Water Company
Residential: Jerrold Kazynski, Brent McCaffrey
Alternate: Jay Quick, Charles LaRue

The Madera County, Chowchilla Subbasin Advisory Committee consisted of the following members:
At-large: Jay Mahil, Ralph Pistoresi
Disadvantaged Communities: Lois Lee Davidson, Joseph Moore
Agricultural: Iest Farms/Tri Iest Dairy (West)
Ben Pitman (East)
Public Water Systems: Sierra Vista Mutual Water Company;
Residential: Clay Daulton, Miguel Guerrero
Alternate: Kevin Herman, James Maxwell

The Madera County, Delta Mendota Subbasin Advisory Committee consisted of the following members:
At-large: vacancy
Disadvantaged Communities: Javier Marquez
Agricultural: Jared Samarin (chair)
Residential: Abel Serrano