Monday, Jul. 15, 2024
Adjust the Font Size


Madera County is comprised of three subbasins, designated by the CA Department of Water Resources as critically overdrafted, and “high priority”:

(1) the Chowchilla Subbasin;

(2) the Madera Subbasin; and

(3) a portion of the Delta-Mendota Subbasin.

Each of these subbasins submitted a Groundwater Sustainability Plan (GSP) or GSPs in January 2020, which showed a plan to achieve “sustainability” by the year 2040.

The Chowchilla Subbasin is comprised of the following four groundwater sustainability agencies: Chowchilla Water District, Madera County, Triangle T Water District, and Merced County.

The Madera Subbasin is comprised of seven groundwater sustainability agencies: Madera County, City of Madera, Madera Irrigation District, Root Creek Water District, Madera Water District, New Stone Water District, and Gravelly Ford Water District.

Madera County encompasses a portion of the Delta-Mendota Subbasin, including the following groundwater sustainability agencies: Aliso Water District, Madera County, and the San Joaquin River Exchange Contractors. All GSPs can be found on this website for review.

SGMA Educational Videos

SGMA Facts